And he rowed by – into a new dawn!

To write a full length travel note requires effort, and as you might have realized, i am lazy. A bigger problem is my mind, it always feel that i haven’t justified the beauty & the history of a location even if my brain says i have. And so, drafts remain drafts!

Recently, an experienced travel blogger and a good human – @magic_eye suggested me to focus on pictures and weave stories around it. It was a brilliant thought and so here i am, attempting my “ClickO stories”!

I am not a good photographer, neither i click from SLR. Most of them are shot through my mobile camera, so please keep your expectations low. Bon Voyage!


In October, my sister got married.

In October, my friends came for my sister’s wedding.

In October, my friends & me stayed in a houseboat.

And on that October morning, I woke up to my first dawn in a decade…
with no concrete structures in front of me – just water & with a green outline!

And then he rowed into my vision, a speck with a life – a fisherman on his boat.

And then he rowed across the lake, and my eyes followed him.

The speck grew bigger, while my mind wandered into Hemingway’s ‘Old Man and the Sea’.

Santiago! Yes he was Santiago, the Old Man after the Big Fish.

He paused. I think he heard me call him by his name, or was it the Big Fish or that boat in the distance?

He resumed doing what he is good at, he rowed steadily across the lake!

He was very near to me, but he never looked at me.
His mind & eyes were focused on the Big Fish that he is yet to see.

He was strong, he leaned forward.
The boat moved ahead.
Swiftly but steady, cutting through the clear waters,
Like that bird, in the blue sky beyond.

There was determination in his posture, strength in his arms,
swift was his skiff, but a peck on the lake!

He leaned again, and the skiff moved again…but this time, it was moving away from me.

I stared at him, as he rode towards the edge… till where i could see.
Was it the moist breeze or the tear glands, i closed my eyes for a moment.

As he rowed away from my eyes, my mind wished him luck…
“Santiago, may you get the big one today”

I never saw him again!


These pictures are the most powerful ones i might have ever clicked. When i was clicking him, my mind was racing through the pages of Ernest Hemingway’s Old Man and the Sea.

I cannot explain how i felt that day. I could hear his oar hitting the water and it made music. There was nothing in my field of vision but him. A certain silence prevailed & and it brought a certain peace in me. How we try hard to race with time, when time actually stops for us!


Some interesting blog posts on backwaters:

  1. http://www.beontheroad.com/2009/09/alappuzha-of-ayurveda-backwaters.html
  2. http://www.myunfinishedlife.com/2013/02/kerala-backwaters-travelling-in.html
  3. http://twelvefield.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/india-kerala-backwaters-2/
  4. http://laurasaffiotistreet.wordpress.com/2013/02/28/kerala-backwaters/
  5. http://indiasidentities.wordpress.com/2013/01/19/life-on-the-backwaters/
  6. Mail me if you have an interesting post to be mentioned here :)

 

The next clickO note is: अग्निपीठ (Agnipeet) – the seat of fire!

27 thoughts on “And he rowed by – into a new dawn!

  1. Pingback: अग्निपीठ (Agnipeet) – the seat of fire! | mindblogging @ my will: a plethora of thoughts

Leave a Reply

